Really confused about what to call myself

PandoraH

Hi folks. I'm new to VAF, but I have been working from home since 2009. Initially, the services I provided were most certainly VA related.

However, in the last couple of years I began to offer other services that more pertain to team management, project planning and business development/coaching.

While all these things can sort of be thrown into the VA title, I'm not really sure I can call myself a VA anymore.

I'd be real curious to know if any of you have gone through this sort of transition and how you handled this.

This relates to the big business project I am working on now, which among other things requires me to determine if I need to create a "business name" to use for my business, or just use my name.

Tess

Administrator
Staff member
Hi Pandora, I definitely started out as a virtual assistant - but then moved into web development and design, and ultimately SEO. Then incarnated multiple times into different niches that were interesting to me. I didn't change from 'VA' to 'web developer' but did list those services separately on the website I had at the time.

I *still* call myself a mix of things and have not landed on anything too far outside of 'business consultant' and 'virtual assistant' - because I am both, all the time, interchangeably.

One of the great things about being a virtual assistant is you can build a pretty big umbrella around a wide swath of different types of services - and because the term is now more widely understood and used, it's advantageous to use it (at least somewhere in your content) from an SEO standpoint and in terms of how potential clients receive you.

I've seen some drama online about the term 'assistant' being a negative, or that it somehow doesn't live up to the level of service and abilities of what some VAs offer - but I don't see it that way.