Printer Usage

stacirene

How often do you have to use a printer when working for a client?

I currently don't own one. When I do need to print something (for personal a reason) I usually go the local library or my mothers up the road.

I ask because if it's not something that's used often then I'll wait to get one.

I know it will all depend on the services offered, I'm jist wondering in general.

Emmeelue84

I have been working as a VA for over 5 years and in that time I have used my printer only a few times. Usually if its something bulk I will let the client know that I will outsource it at a kinkos or something and then send them the bill for it. If its just a few pages I suck up the charges and print from home but like I mentioned I have rarely had to do that. Again, though I would think it would depend on the type of clients you are taking on.

Williams

Hi Stacie!

Nice to have you at the forum!

My printer broke in October and I miss it; however, I only printed for my personal use - not for clients. Currently, I'm sending documents to my husband (who also works from home) and he prints on his printer.

Terri

Paulette

I usually print out my contracts which I sign, scan and then email to the client so they have a copy. I guess you don't NEED a printer but it would still be to your benefit to have an inexpensive printer with a scan feature. You'll probably need to scan more than print so getting an all-in-one is prob your best option.

jmacd

Interesting to note how little people use printers these days. I do print my business receipts to help with my expense tracking. I also like to print some marketing pieces to fact check what they look like and do a careful pen/paper edit with a red pen. A bit old school, but it gives my eyes a break too. Yes I'd recommend a 3 in one print/scan/fax which can be purchased economically at big box stores or others on sale. Printers are much cheaper these days than they once were.