Medical Transcription

I am very interested in possibly getting into the Medical Transcription field. I was a nurse (a million years ago) and have worked in several other medical field offices over the past 20 years. AND I love transcription.

It seems like there are a lot of job announcements for medical transcribers also.

BUT a lot of them ask for proof of certification.

Does anyone here have suggestions of a good place to learn and get certification for medical transcription??

Thanks for your advice!

Jena

KathiWalsheck

Hi, best to brushup on your Medical Terminology first. Makes transcription much easier. You can create your own way of training. You can use your computer or speak into a mini recorder. then play it back and start typing. But when you are speaking it out, make sure you state your puncuations in the letter or soap notes, this way you know how to transcribe it.
A letter is usually like this when you listen to it...
OBJECTIVE this word is all caps and then a colon On examination of the right lower extremity comma the tibial and femoral pin sites are clean comma dry and intact period There are no local signs of infection period On examination of the knee comma there is minimal soft tissue swelling period (So now the soap note will look like this when you type it out...)
OBJECTIVE: On examination of the right lower extremity, the tibial and femoral pin sites are clean, dry and intact. there are no local signs of infection. On examination of the knee, there is a minimal soft tissue swelling.
(See, you will fill in the puncuation when it is spoken to you in the dictation). It is good practice. Have fun!

bridiej