Question How do you operate legally (LLC, sole prop, partnership, etc.)?

Do you run your business as a

• Sole Proprietor

Votes: 1 100.0%
  • LLC

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • S-corp

• Partnership

• Total voters

LeeDrozak

Community Leader
Re: How do you operate legally?

Alyssa,

I operate as a sole proprietor. However, I am starting another company that will a LLP as three will be three partners and we felt this was the best route for us to go legally. I looked into making My Office Assistant an LLP but for now I will leave it as is and let me accountant decide when I should make the move.

AmyBRVA

I have been working at a sole proprietor for several months now, but looking into the filing of an LLC. I am trying to figure out a budget for those costs.

kimblake2

I haven't gotten that far yet, but would definitely think an LLC would be a good choice for me.

Just wanted to quickly recommend a site for operation.
http://www.incsmart.biz they operate out of Las Vegas, NV
I have spoken with David and Michael and I do know they are currentlly seeking a Registered Agent for the state of IL if anyone is interested?

debw241

Here I go showing my stupidity - but I am in Illinois and gotta ask... Registered Agent?

HouseGirl

For liability purposes we counsel all our clients to at least consider an LLC (and get good insurance coverage).

However what most of our clients don't understand is that an LLC is not a recognized tax entity and unless otherwise timely elected to be taxed as (for instance) a Subchapter S Corporation they will in fact default (under state law) to be taxed either as sole proprietor (if a single member LLC) or as a partnership (if a multi-member LLC).

Since there are advantages and disadvantages to all entity types we also counsel all of our clients to seek competent legal counsel.